Sweet 16 Sweet Things of ’16 (Part 2)

Like the Empire Strikes Back or II Corinthians, sometimes the sequel is better than the original. Let’s get right into part two of our Sweet 16.

12. Marvel’s Luke Cage on Netflix

What separates Netflix from the big screen Marvel movies is scale. Generally speaking, the blockbusters focus on saving the world while the Marvel/Netflix shows focus on the heroes saving their world.

Luke Cage is a perfect example.

It is dark and asks great questions about violence like:

Where does it come from? What does it lead to?

The anger, fear, jealousy of characters often is the root and thankfully it leads to some of the best action scenes on the small screen.

And it has the best soundtrack. Period.

Check the trailer for proof.

11. Apple Watch Nike +

160907_apple_watch_nike

This past year I celebrated my weight loss by running a sprint triathlon (500m swim, 20k bike ride, 5k run). I immediately fell in love and wanted to do another so 2017 will be the year of the triathlon (after I get my hernia repaired).

One thing that helped me in my weight loss was my Fitbit. Between tracking calories and steps it was my inspiration.

But it has some drawbacks, namely I can’t swim with it on and that’s 1/3 of my training.

Enter the waterproof series 2 Apple watch.

It has all the features of the Apple watch including the ability to reply to texts and take calls right from the phone (Fitbit doesn’t offer that).

Add in that the Nike + run is involved and my love for Nike after reading Shoe Dog (#14 on the countdown) and this has become the tech I want for the upcoming race season.

Did I mention that it’s the perfect gift for that triathlete in your life who may be turning 40 in 2017?

10. Titanfall 2

I’m nearly 40 and I still love video games.

It has been a part of my life since the Atari 2600 when I was a young kid and as gaming has evolved I’ve been able to evolve with it.

There. I admitted it.

Again.

Titanfall 2 is mechanically the best shooter of 2016. Mixing pilots (with unique abilities) and titans (giant robots) together and throwing them into one sandbox follows up on the things the original Titanfall did right.

It also added a single player campaign (I didn’t think it needed one) which turned out to be the most refreshing shooter campaign in years.

Here’s a highlight video I made of my gameplay:

9. Arrival

This isn’t your typical alien “kill ’em all!” movie. In fact, I remember leaving the theater and seeing a guy all worked up because it wasn’t. It was hilarious. Sorry, no Will Smith.

Arrival is a great movie that looks at the idea of free will.

My problem here is that the movie is so unique I can’t post too much because I don’t want to give anything away, but please, trust me. This movie should be on your “must see” list.

 

That’s it for today. Check back tomorrow for #8-#5!

Leave a Reply

