Unorthodox Faith: My Journey into a Changing Theology

Theology – the study of the nature of God and religious belief

Journey – act of traveling from one place to another

Anyone who follows Jesus will eventually notice that their faith changes. In the same way a person matures as a physical human we mature on our spiritual journey.

Many Christians are glad that they haven’t changed theologically for years or decades. That says that these people seem to have God all figured out despite the Scriptures clearly teaching “How great is God — beyond our understanding!” and “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

I used to be one of those people too.

This is the first in a series of posts that will discuss where God has brought my faith and theology. I may not even agree with what I’m writing a year from now, but this is where I’m at.

 

I grew up in a typical 90’s youth group with a volunteer youth pastor who loved us and did his best at teaching me how to follow Jesus. He was active in our lives outside of what he taught and that made a huge impact in our lives.

Our church did have some blinders on though.

If you came to our church on Sundays (not youth group Wednesdays) you would probably leave feeling that these were the two commandments:

“Don’t drink, don’t chew and don’t run around with those that do.”

And

“Read your Bible, pray everyday.”

That’s it.

That’s so…easy…

And that was what made me an arrogant know-it-all evangelical. It was simple and I felt like I knew it all. It gave me a false sense of superiority.

 

There were two events that shook me and humbled me into realizing I didn’t have it all figured out: a flight home from Texas and a few days in the Sacramento area.

We’ll get into that tomorrow as well as open and close handed theology…

Until then, take a moment to pray and ask God if your faith and theology have stayed the same for too long and get ready to hopefully have your journey take a new path too.

 

3 thoughts on “Unorthodox Faith: My Journey into a Changing Theology

  1. E Bryant says:

    Hey, Adam. We haven’t interacted in a long time. I saw this and it caught my eye. This is an excellent teaser. You’ve got me interested. I’m looking forward to hearing your story. You’ve always had a way with words and something interesting to say.

    Years ago, I worked with a guy I really got along well with. He was a disenchanted Mormon and I was becoming disenchanted with evangelicalism as a whole. We talked about those things in passing during our conversations, never directly but enough to realize that we were both searching for something more than we had. We both eventually left that workplace and went separate ways in the profession. Years later, we started running into each other regularly because of work and we had time to catch up. It was one of those friendships where we took the relationship right back up where it left off, as comfortable with each other as ever. I found it interesting that he had gone into a form of modern Gnosticism (which he acknowledged) and I had gone into Reformed Theology, pretty much the opposite directions. We talked about how radically different that was and marveled at it. He lost confidence in the Scriptures while I found them more trustworthy and relevant than ever. Journeys can be so different, and destinations very divergent.

    Here’s to journeying ever toward Truth.

  2. Sarah Parmenter says:

    Excited to read these thoughts, Adam! I’ve really been enjoying a growth phase in a different direction in my journey in the last few years. I’m interested to further explore your thoughts on these areas! Much love!

Leave a Reply

