About Last Night…(Random Election Thoughts)

Most everyone was stunned last night as we all awaited the presidential election results. Democrats, Republicans and everyone in between hardly expected a Trump victory but it happened and most agreed that we have to throw out everything we ever thought we knew about polling and public opinion.

I stayed up until 3 am EST to hear his victory speech and since I haven’t fully processed everything yet here are a bunch of the random thoughts (some good, some bad) I had. It’s a fairly raw stream of thought so I apologize if some of it is a little darker in tone.

Here we go:

At least for one night, the election brought my family together. There were no sports or work to get in the way so I was able to make a nice dinner (lasagna roll ups and a bottle of wine for my wife and I) and we sat around a table as a family. That’s rare for us right now, so I’m thankful for the election providing us that opportunity.

The sun will come up tomorrow. How about that…it did.

How would I feel today if Clinton had won? I didn’t really care for her either.

Where’s Ross Perot when you need him?

The same evangelicals who wanted Bill Clinton impeached for his sexual indiscretions ignored Trump’s and voted for him in droves. What changed?

Too many Christians are getting their theology from politics and not their politics from their theology.

That last one is on me and everyone else who has been or is a pastor. Instead of spoon feeding people advice on how to be a better spouse, parent, etc. we should have spent more time on teaching people how to have a relationship with God.

The Old Testament records a lot of political history of Israel. They demanded a king so God let them have one. The list of bad kings far outweighs the good so let’s not rush to say that God appointed Trump to rule as a good king. I’m not suggesting that he’ll be a bad president, I’m simply saying we have to stop thinking that real life is like a crappy Christian movie where good always triumphs in the end. The home team doesn’t always win, the good guy sometimes loses, marriages fail, and people get sick and die…even when they live for Jesus and it doesn’t seem to make sense.

Despite allowing bad things and bad kings, God is good and loves us enough to let us make destructive choices.

Trump said a lot of right things in his victory speech and I hope he meant it when he said he wanted to bring the country together because I have a lot of minority friends who are afraid. They’re not alone. His campaign slandered Muslims, Hispanics, women, the disabled, and even overweight people.

I’m sure there are a lot of “it’s over now. Can we just move on together” talk on social media which is easy if you’re a white male.

My favorite tweet of the night “BRITAIN: Brexit is the stupidest, most self-destructive act a country could undertake. USA: Hold my beer.”

 

We may only be one or two election cycles from electing this guy (a little NSFW language):

The election has inspired me again to remember that I carry the mantle of Jesus and no one can do it for me so I need to be a better husband, father, friend, and spiritual disciple maker.

I need to intentionally shrink my circle. It’s not because I hate anyone but if you want to maximize your influence you have to start with a smaller inner circle. There’s a great number of people I really like and like to hang out with but there needs to be a smaller group that I pour myself into to try to make as big a difference as I can in their walk with Jesus.

These last two are the ones that are sticking with me the most today. Chances are Trump will not be the destruction of the free world and when I right-size my worldview I realize his election will have nothing to do with me acting like Jesus towards EVERYONE.

Leave a Reply

