Epiphany 2016

In the early hours of 2016, as I drifted from inebriated to hungover, it occurred to me that January 1st might not be the best time to be resolute on goals for the coming year.   Perhaps I should wait until I was in better shape, outside the Christmas season, to get started on my “new year” in any formal matter.

A half-inebriated epiphany: why not on the Epiphany, the official last day of the Christmas season?  That and it makes it 360 days to hold to the goals vs. 366….

Last year was a difficult one for me.  While I started feeling the forties in 2014, last year was when it was it hit like a tsunami.  I started out the year in denial that I was okay ; I was far from it.

I revisit the loss and regret that defined the dark spaces of January – May 2015 to reflect, but I live my life in the waves that followed.  I ended 2015 in a good space; one where I was happy but not satisfied, appreciative of where I am, but curious and eager to find where I can go.

With all of that in mind, my goals for 2016:

  1. Run at least 500 miles.  10 miles a week is doable. At least it was pre-40.  I am about to find out because the next goal is
  2. Finish a triathlon.  I am hoping I can get in sync with my “invisible friend” (credit: Carrie Lockhart), Adam.  It would be cool to have our first meeting take place at the completion of a goal.
  3. The prior goal should help with this: lose 30 pounds
  4. Read more books (aiming for 26 25 more…finished Armada last night), less thinkpieces and the like. I waste more time on the internet than I would like to admit.  And I don’t even have a smart phone.
  5. Watch 2 new films or shows a week.  You can’t get better at something without watching people having (or not) success at it.  I really want to finish 3 new scripts this year.
  6. Which should be here: write three new scripts.  I am not including the 2nd/ (really)118th draft of what I am working on right now.  I have some ideas.  I am going to explore them…
  7. Tied into that, write at least an hour a day.  Routine is everything: in writing, in running, eating well, living well.  Free range does not work, at least not for me.
  8. Write a blog post a week here.  I am working on one about my 3 year old and how her Finding Nemo obsession from this past year really helped me when I was in my dark place. That film is flat out brilliant, and if you have not seen it in a while, watch it again.  The opening score has been playing on a loop via Spotify as I have pecked this together.  It is a wonderful piece of film music.
  9. Limit my time online.  It can wait.  My wife.  My kids.  My family.  All of the goals above cannot.

 

Leave a Reply

