The Sound of Silence

“By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13.35

This past Sunday at the Pursuit we talked about the idea of technology and how it has changed friendships and more specifically the way we love one another.

We have more “friends” but fewer deep, meaningful relationships. You can hear the full teaching here.

This morning, I heard a cover of one of the greatest songs ever written both melodically and lyrically and it was covered by one of my favorite artists, Joy Williams formerly of the Civil Wars.

As I watched the video and listened this powerful performance I was reminded of the times when relationships were done face to face and not screen to screen. When life was lived out in genuine community with one another.

My prayer and goal the last few weeks has been to reduce technology in my life to the point where it is only used to encourage others in the Gospel and to let it be less of a distraction.

I want to free up my time so I can be more present and engaged with those who are right in front of me.

So I can love others better.

Sadly, it is the most difficult thing I’ve ever done.

It may just be that reason that I feel God convicting me this afternoon through this beautiful song.

I hope you enjoy it too and maybe are encourage to reconnect, encourage, and love one another.

Hello darkness, my old friend,
I’ve come to talk with you again,
Because a vision softly creeping,
Left its seeds while I was sleeping,
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence.

In restless dreams I walked alone
Narrow streets of cobblestone,
‘Neath the halo of a street lamp,
I turned my collar to the cold and damp
When my eyes were stabbed by the flash of a neon light
That split the night
And touched the sound of silence.

And in the naked light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more.
People talking without speaking,
People hearing without listening,
People writing songs that voices never share
And no one dared
Disturb the sound of silence.

“Fools,” said I, “You do not know –
Silence like a cancer grows.
Hear my words that I might teach you.
Take my arms that I might reach you.”
But my words like silent raindrops fell
And echoed in the wells of silence

And the people bowed and prayed
To the neon god they made.
And the sign flashed out its warning
In the words that it was forming.
And the sign said, The words of the prophets are written on the subway walls
And tenement halls
And whispered in the sound of silence.

2 thoughts on “The Sound of Silence

  1. jonkot says:

    I see exactly where you are coming from, Adam. I see it at play in my life at times in ways that feel off. So I try to adjust. The song has a clairavoyant feel there. Very spooky.

    Preamble aside, Rob doesn’t “meet” you, I don’t “meet” you via him. I know how much he treasures your relationship and I certainly have been lead to think of things I may not of considered otherwise…

    Such as why haven’t I taken a closer look at the Sound of Silence before?

    1. Adam Lockhart says:

      I had never paid much attention to the song either until Arrested Development turned it into a recurring joke in season 4. Fantastic stuff.
      It is a great thing the way God uses modern tech to connect people who may have otherwise never connected, and I am grateful for it as well.

Leave a Reply

