Exodus: Gods and Kings First Trailer

From the first poster I saw for Exodus (recently changed to Exodus: Gods and Kings for some silly, subtitled reason) it appeared to me that Ridley Scott was going for a biblical version of Gladiator. Swap out Maximus’ chin strap beard for Moses’ Van Dyke and the movie is ready to roll. Needless to say, that had me a little worried that it would overdo the action much the way the Bible mini-series did at times.

But with the release of the first trailer my enthusiasm for this film is restored. As I’ve stated before, I’m not expecting 100% biblical accuracy, but I do hope to see the heart of the story in tact.

The first trailer was released last night and here’s a quick rundown of the pros/cons:

PROS:

Strong story between brothers seems in place

Plagues!

CONS: Not even once did Christian Bale say in a gravely voice: “I’m Moses.”

Take a look and let me know what you think.

 

 

One thought on “Exodus: Gods and Kings First Trailer

Leave a Reply

