Future/Past – New Single from John Mark McMillan

John Mark McMillan has been one of my favorite Christian artists for a few years now. He’s got a distinct voice, both tonally and lyrically.

I’d recently heard that he was working on a new album that would be out soon but today, Relevant shared his first video from the project and it is a song called “Future/Past”.

I know the video won’t help me shake the “hipster pastor” nickname some have given me since it is filled with beards, tattoos, 2 drum kits, and tons of 20 somethings, but I love this song already.

I can’t wait to hear the whole release, whenever that is. Until then, enjoy “Future/Past”

 

You hold the reins on the sun and the moon
Like horses driven by kings
You cover the mountains, the valleys below
With the breadth of your mighty wings

All treasures of wisdom and things to be known
Are hidden inside your hand
And in this fortunate turn of events
You ask me to be your friend
You ask me to be your friend

And you,
You are my first
You are my last
You are my future and my past

The constellations are swimming inside
The breadth of your desire
Where could I run, where could I hide
from your heart’s jealous fire

All treasures of wisdom and things to be known
Are hidden inside your hand
And in this fortunate turn of events
You ask me to be your friend
You ask me to be your friend

And you,
You are my first
You are my last
You are my future and my past

You are the beginning and the end

Here’s a video on the upcoming project. I love what he has to say about worship.

 

Leave a Reply

