13 Best Anythings of ’13

2013 was awesome. Here’s my 13 favorite things of the year in no particular order:

1. Beards. I’ve always had at least a stubble beard but this year I moved from a Freshman beard to a Varsity one. Noshave Novembeard started in September for me. I still haven’t shaved and have recently made investments in a boar hairbrush and beard balm.

2.Bearded Gospel Men. Christian beard humor. Boom.

3. Tattoos. I am fascinated by tattoos. From the art form to the competition shows like Ink Masters or the shop shows like Miami Ink. I love the medium. And before getting worked up about the Christian tattoo community, give this a view.

 

 

4. Breaking Bad. We were late to the show and only caught the last few episodes “live”. No show has done a better job of showing how good intentions paired with bad decisions can destroy a person. The journey of one man going from a dying man who wanted to care for those he was going to leave behind to a man consumed by being bad and neglecting the thing that motivated him in the first place. 

It was the most amazing show and accurate depiction of how sin (rebellion against God) will lead you to places and situations you never wanted to be in.

5. The Hobbit: the Desolation of Smaug. The sequel to the prequel was fantastic. Sure it isn’t 100% faithful to Tolkien’s writing but it was well done and the set up at the end make’s 2014’s conclusion one thing I can’t wait for.

6. Planting the Pursuit. I’ve spent the last 3 years planning, praying, and working towards the opening of the church. On Easter Sunday 3013 it became a reality. Baptisms, community work, transformed lives, atheists becoming theists, and seeing God’s movement in our community was the best moments of the year and the thing I look forward to most in 2014.

7. Newgrass. One if my favorite genres of music is what I’ve started calling “newgrass” it is a new version of bluegrass. Groups like Mumford & Sons released a new album as did the Avett Brothers who my wife and I saw in concert…twice. I don’t think they’re quite newgrass but I’d put the Civil Wars on this list too.

8. Arrested Development Season 4. After nearly a decade away the greatest sitcom of all time made its return as a Netflix exclusive.

9. Tig Notaro “Live”. Just a couple days after finding out she had breast cancer, stand-up comedian Tig Notaro tiok the stage and the club owner recorder her set. What happened was one of the most transparent, touching, and hilarious recordings I’ve ever heard.

10. The Daily Show/The Colbert Report. No, I don’t agree with all of their politics, but they deliver the news with humor. Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert just so happen to also be the two funniest men on television.

11. GOOD Christian music. It’s hard to find any that I would consider good. But that’s what the Digital Age, All Sons and Daughters, and Beautiful Eulogy managed to pull off this year.

12. The Walking Dead. The second half of season 4 and the first half of season 4 show that the series is still strong and compelling.

13. Theology. I love the study of God and 2013 was a great year for it. From books to podcasts to websites, theology is part of my worldview and it is why I write this blog: because I believe from my theological worldview that whatever I watch,read, view or participate in can be done to the glory of God.

Leave a Reply

