The Daily Show, Jesus, and Interviews

I LOVE the Daily Show. I would call it a “guilty pleasure” but that would mean I am ashamed of watching it and I am not. Do I agree with their stance on a lot of issues? No. In fact, I often disagree with them but that doesn’t keep me from enjoying the show, the humor, and the discussion that happens as a result of their “news” coverage. I watch the Daily Show as often as possible.

Last night, they had an interview with Reza Aslan (no relation to C.S. Lewis’ lion of the same name because…duh, one is a lion) on his new book “Zealot: the Life and Times of Jesus of Nazareth” and it pretty well held the course for me. Some of the interview was incredible and insightful, especially as they talked about the historical context of Jesus. It was also fascinating as Aslan did a great job of discussing the purpose of the text (truth vs. historical accuracy). Some of it made assumptions that as a Christian I would not make, especially near the end of the second half but I will leave you to watch it and let you respond.

Here’s the interview. What do you think?

Also, I would not be upset with anyone who wanted to pass along a copy of this book to me.

Part 1:

 

 

Part 2

 

Leave a Reply

