Catching Fire Trailer

It’s not often that I get to read fiction any more. I may get to read one fiction book a year. Most of my reading is related to what I do: reading and studying the Scriptures, books on church planting, leadership, and preaching. But when I went to see Man of Steel the second time with a group of friends from church, the first trailer for The Hunger Games: Catching Fire was shown. After showing my wife the trailer, she insisted that I pick up Catching Fire and start reading. How much did I enjoy it? I finished it about midnight last night and immediately picked up my wife’s copy of Mockingjay. Yeah, it was that good.

I’m excited to see Oscar, Academy Award, and SAG winner Phillip Seymour Hoffman as Plutarch Heavensbee as I believe he’s one of the best actors alive and he’ll make a great addition to an already amazing cast that features Academy Award and Oscar winner Jennifer Lawrence, brother of Thor (Chris Hemmsworth) and man who seems to have Greek god DNA Liam Hemmsworth, two time Golden Globe winner Donald Sutherland, two time Oscar nominated Woody Harrelson, multi-Prime Time Emmy nominee Elizabeth Banks, and multi-Grammy winner Lenny Kravitz.

…and Josh Hutcherson of such fame as Firehouse Dog and Zathura.

Enjoy the trailer and read the books if you have the chance.

 

 

*I actually like Josh Hutcherson and Zathura was a cute kids movie. Firehouse Dog on the other hand…

2 thoughts on “Catching Fire Trailer

  1. jonkot says:

    I feel Donald Sutherland is as large of a miscasting as I have ever seen.

    The transfer from 1st person account to film leaves a bit to be desired to me, but I am admittedly hyper critical of such things. Books>film always in my view, it is just a matter of degrees.

    I’d suggest mote fiction may inform better speeches/homilies. If you weave popular fiction into relaying ideas it may stick better. Tere are limits of course. Anyway

    I am looking forward to Catching Fire as well.

    Jon

  2. Adam Lockhart says:

    Donald Sutherland was a miscast? Is it that you don’t think President Snow should be the soft spoken malicious type or that you don’t care for him as an actor?

    For me, I had a tipping point with books and movies. Yes, books are always better than their movie counterparts but with Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter there was an shift in the book to movie transition in my thinking. I stopped thinking of the movie as an adaptation and more of a retelling or maybe even more generously, a reboot. AL:VH is one of my all-time favorite works. It was so well crafted with fact and fiction that the line often blurred. It focused still on human rights and trafficking of people just with a vampire twist. It was incredible. Then there was the movie. It abandoned nearly all of its narrative and was mainly about Lincoln: the bad a**. And I enjoyed it. Personally, that’s when I became a little more receptive to books that become movies. Of course, it is easy for me to say that because I don’t have any personal favorite books being made into films right now, except for the Hobbit and Jackson has done all right by the franchise so far.

    I also LOVE working in as much pop culture as I can when I teach. I am a fan of making things relatable. It was a huge moment when I stopped hiding my nerd leanings and started to embrace them.

    Thanks for the feedback, Jon. Hopefully, we’ll meet up soon on that virtual battlefield!

Leave a Reply

