Hockey, Boston, and Community

I’m not a huge hockey fan which is considered heresy since I live in Detroit and we have the Detroit Red Wings (they’re basically the Yankees of hockey). It’s an ok sport, but since they have all but removed fighting from the game I’ve lost a lot of interest. I know, call me barbaric, but I miss the Bob Probert, Joey Kocur, and Darren McCarty days. Side note: all 3 links are to helmet punches, mullets, and hair metal. You’re welcome.

My ADHD comments aside, last night the Boston Bruins played their first home game since the bombing at the marathon and they opened with this chill inducing, patriotic and unifying rendition of the national anthem. It was such an incredible moment as a community. This is the very sense of community that churches should strive for. In tragedy and out of tragedy, this sense of being there for each other, supporting each other, and genuinely caring for one another should be hallmarks of Christ’s church.

If you haven’t already seen this, I hope you enjoy this incredible moment.

One thought on “Hockey, Boston, and Community

  1. Eric says:

    Thanks for the video Adam! Amazing! Kudos to the singer, Rene, for leading the crowd instead of just singing the song. I did get a chill!

    My other thought on your post was “Eddie Shore? Old time hockey?”

Leave a Reply

