Making Superman Cool Again

Not since the Justice League cartoon (not the new ones, the amazing series Challenge of the Superfriends)  have I been so into DC as I am right now. I grew up as a Marvel junkie but with the Chris Nolan Batman trilogy, the new DC fighting game INJUSTICE that my boys and I have been playing a lot lately to the latest trailer for “Man of Steel” the new Superman reboot, I’m rediscovering the great DC storylines.

To the degree that the last Superman movie was awful, this one seems amazing. It is full of incredible spiritual themes some of which I’ve already discussed. In the latest trailer there are two lines that get me. The first being the exchange with Clark saying “Can’t I just keep pretending I’m your son?” which is met with “You are my son”. Incredible. As one pastor friend said to me “It just cries out a conversation on grace and adoption.” Couldn’t agree more. As a dad, these moments hit even harder.

The other moment takes place as a discussion over the “S” on Supes chest. When asked what it stands for, he responds “It’s not an ‘S’. On my world, it means ‘hope’.” It’s a great line especially since it comes on the heels of Superman saying that he and his father would have conversations where his dad would tell him that if the world knew who he really was, they’d reject him.

At this point, I can’t wait for this Summer blockbuster to hit.

 

2 thoughts on “Making Superman Cool Again

Leave a Reply

