Stories That Matter

This is one of my favorite scenes from one of my favorite movies. Sam’s speech rings true in all of us. We all want to tell stories with our lives, stories that matter. Those kind of stories are filled with danger and opportunities to turn back. What will we do with those moments?

I’m excited to announce that when the Pursuit officially goes LIVE in the near future we will be starting with a series on stories and how to tell a story with our lives that matters.

Enjoy one of the greatest motivational speeches ever delivered on film and we hope if you’re local you’ll join us when we launch. If not, you can listen online and journey with us in the storytelling.

4 thoughts on “Stories That Matter

  1. Rob Kotaska says:

    I became a Samwise fan when he went in the lake at the end of fellowship. This scene cemented my affection for the character. It is my go to when I am having a down day. Forget ‘Rudy”, this monologue is Sean Astin’s moment that inspires.

  2. Adam Lockhart says:

    I struggled with Sam for a long time. He wasn’t written like the Sam in the books and that is because Sean fought to make him less of a nitwit. That was Sam’s charm. Anywho, I’m finally coming around on the character and this speech is a big reason why.

  3. robkotaska says:

    Of course the reason he could not be such an idiot was that Merry and Pippin took on that role in the films, likely to free the focus of Sam as a true friend. Whatever the reason, I love the shift (which I never knew existed, but makes sense to me).

  4. Rob Kotaska says:

    Of course the reason he could not be such an idiot was that Merry and Pippin took on that role in the films, likely to free the focus of Sam as a true friend. Whatever the reason, I love the shift (which I never knew existed, but makes sense to me). Double bam!

Leave a Reply

